J Mortens Meat Market Logo


A5 Japanese Wagyu, Miyazaki Ribeye

Australian Wagyu Boneless Ribeye MS 7+/9
Australian Wagyu Bavette MS 9/9
Australian Wagyu Ny Strip 7+/9
Dry Aged Australian Wagyu Porterhouse
Dry Aged Australian Wagyu Tbones

35 Day Dry Aged Australian Wagyu Tomahawk
Australian Wagyu Tomahawk MS 7+

75/25 Domestic Wagyu 8oz Burger Patties

Wagyu Steaks

Our Selection

We are proud to offer a variety of Wagyu beef. You can see the marbling in Wagyu beef that you just don't see in other types of steaks. Wagyu is tender, decadent and packed with luxurious flavor. The unique taste and tenderness of highly marbled Wagyu beef makes for an unrivalled eating experience. That is why Wagyu beef is finding its way into the repertoires of Gourmet cooks and fine restaurants across the US.

A5 Japanese Wagyu Beef Grading

Japanese Wagyu Beef is strictly graded by the Japanese Meat Grading Association. Being that it is the most exquisite beef in the world, it is imperative that this unique product is properly graded to protect integrity, transparency, and authenticity.

Wagyu Beef carcasses are graded between the sixth and seventh rib. Grading is based on two, very specific factors: Yield and Grade. Yield meaning the ratio of meat compared to the actual carcass weight. Grade meaning the overall Beef Marbling Score (BMS), Beef Color Standard (BCS) , Beef Fat Standard (BFS) , Firmness & Texture. In order to qualify as A5 Japanese Wagyu, beef must be graded as Grade A for yield and Grade 5 in BMS, BFS, BCS, firmness and texture.

What is Wagyu?

Wagyu is a term that literally means “Japanese cow” and is the name given to cattle breeds developed over centuries in Japan. Wagyu beef is known for its intense marbling and carries a well-deserved reputation for exquisite taste, texture and tenderness.The world of cows in Japan can be traced by breed, bloodline, and even geography. Beginning in the Meiji Era, the Japanese recognized the value of Wagyu beef and sought to develop it into the highest quality beef in the world. Seeking to preserve the purity of the bloodline, Japan banned the export of Wagyu DNA in 1997.

There are four main breeds of Wagyu in Japan:Japanese Black Kuroge WashuJapanese Brown Akage WashuJapanese Shorthorn Nihon TankakushuJapanese Polled Mukaku Washu

By far the most important of the four Wagyu breeds is Kuroge Washu, known for its unique genetic disposition for exquisite marbling. Kuroge Washu is the only breed of cattle that can an A4 or A5 rating by the Japanese Meat Grading Association.

Australian Wagyu

For Wagyu beef, brand promise is everything. For brand owners, brand recognition represents a known quality, where a key element of the story is marbling.Accurately grading marbling gives consumers and brand owners clarity and confidence in the brand and eating experience.Wagyu is renowned for its exceptional eating experience and is due principally to its unique intramuscular fat characteristics. The degree and quality of the fat distribution is what determines the quality of Wagyu and its demand by consumers.

Currently, qualified meat graders assess beef carcase parameters including carcase weight, P8 fat depth, dentition, ossification, pH, intramuscular fat content (marble score), meat colour, fat colour and eye muscle area under the Aus-Meat grading system. Voluntary additional values can also be included to define the eating quality under Meat Standards Australia.

To further enhance the specification of marbling and marbling fineness (how the fat is distributed through the eye muscle), objective carcase measurement using a digital camera is undertaken. The Australian Wagyu Association in partnership with Meat Image Japan, are using specifically designed cameras for Wagyu for Australian produced Wagyu.

Kobe Confusion

You’ve probably heard of Kobe beef. But thanks to mislabeling in the U.S., the term is subject to much confusion. For example, beef that is actually only a small percentage Wagyu is often sold at a high premium and labeled as “American Kobe”.

In order to be certified Kobe beef, the cattle must be Japanese Black (Kuroge Washu) and pure Tajima. Also, the cows must be bred, raised and slaughtered in the Hyogo prefecture of Japan. Finally, the meat must reach a 6 or above on the BMS marbling scale.

Marbling and the BMS Grading System

Marbling is the distribution of soft white intramuscular fats within the red meat. Generations of careful breeding and management of diet and exercise contribute to the unique marbling of Wagyu Beef. Wagyu is graded for its marbling on a scale of 1 -12, with 12 being the highest achievable quality. At this level, the beef is considered a work of art!

A5 Japanese Wagyu Ribeye

To be designated as “A5 Wagyu”, the beef must be raised in Japan and achieve the highest possible rating by the Japanese Meat Grading Association. For reference, USDA Prime Beef, the highest designation of quality in the U.S., is equivalent to a 4 or 5 marbling score.

The Art of Steak

Simply put, Japanese Wagyu is the pinnacle of the steak world and A5-grade the rarest of all steaks, less than 1% of total Japanese production.

Like fine wines, the flavors and legendary intramuscular fat structures of Japanese Wagyu vary noticeably, not just from region-to-region (known as Prefectures), but from farm-to-farm based on genetics, feeding protocols and husbandry. Our expertly-curated portfolio of Wagyu is the most comprehensive assortment in the world, tracing the expression of Wagyu from the cold northern climes of Hokkaido to the sub-tropical beauty of Kyushu.